Fun Food! · Halloween · Holidays

Spider Web Pancakes

Spider Web PancakesMy kids love it when I make these pancakes every October!  They look like they’d be hard to draw and flip, but they are super easy if you have the right tools.  You just need a condiment bottle and a big, flat, plastic spatula.

Spider Web Pancakes

I buy squeezy condiment  bottles whenever I see them, they have them often at Target in the summer in the dollar spot, but also in most places that sell kitchen tools.  I cut the tip down almost to the bottom to make the thick pancake batter come out a little more easily, and boom- I can make almost any shape I want.  It’s fun on the weekends when we have time for pancakes to ask the kids “What shape do you want today?” and then attempt it.

For these, you just put the batter in your condiment bottle and then starting in the center, make a circle swirl.  Then do a cross in the middle.

Here is a video of me making them. 

The other key, besides the condiment bottle and the flat spatula is not to flip them until the bottom is totally golden.  Flipping them too early will rip them.  Make sure the first side is cooked through before you flip.

Place a little plastic spider on the top and watch the kids enjoy!

Leave a comment