Birthdays

Making Birthdays Special

11008084_10152858262733392_3915304417756710434_n
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

One of my very favorite things about having kids is that I get to do my best to make their birthdays a really BIG occasion.  My husband will roll his eyes at this, but as a person who has always had high expectations of having a “birthday week,” it is also important to me to make sure my kids have the  best day ever on their birthday.

Ways to make your child's birthday special.  - Secrets of a Supermom
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

I have three kids and their birthdays all fall in a matter of 6 weeks.  I wish I had it spread out better, but it wasn’t really in my control. 😉  My oldest daughter and my son are only 9 days apart.  Because they aren’t old enough to care right now, we have a joint birthday party for them, with all of their friends and family, on a non-birthday day, (last year we had a Puppy Party) one year it was a Pirate/Mermaid party.  Then we make their actual big day all about them.

Ways to make your child's birthday special.  - Secrets of a Supermom
Pirate/Mermaid Party

I always buy store bought cakes for their big party, because I am no cake decorator, but on their actual day, I make them a special cake, whatever they want. My oldest daughter goes so far as to draw me diagrams of what she wants.

Ways to make your child's birthday special. - Secrets of a Supermom
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

Last year, the theme was “I want everything really pink and really fancy.

Ways to make your child's birthday special.  - Secrets of a Supermom
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

When they wake up in the morning, we sing happy birthday and they blow out their candles.  If they want cake for their birthday breakfast, they got it!  A donut for breakfast?  But of course.

Ways to make your child's birthday special.  - Secrets of a Supermom
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

Birthday child gets to choose dinner.  Whether it’s homemade potstickers made by mom at home, or dinner out at Red Robin, it’s the birthday boy/girl’s choice. One year we had to go to Applebees twice.  This year I think we’re going to Red Robin twice in 9 days.  [insert green-faced-sick emoji here]

Ways to make your child's birthday special.  - Secrets of a Supermom
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

Great thought is put into what kind of cake they want me to make for their actual birthday at home.  Last year, my daughter wanted a “pink and fancy” cake and even drew me a pictures.  This year, my son wanted a “dinosaur cake that was all blue.”  Hello Blue Velvet!

And yes, even though they had cake for breakfast, they get the birthday dessert!

Ways to make your child's birthday special.  - Secrets of a Supermom
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom
Jungle Animal Themed Cake
Jungle Animal Themed Cake
Rainbow Unicorn Cheesecake
Rainbow Unicorn Cheesecake

One of my favorite parts about the birthday is decorating the house.  I love that with minimal effort on my part blowing up some cheap balloons and hanging up some streamers, they come down the stairs in the morning knowing it is a special day.  I don’t even pay for helium balloons, I just use string to hang regular balloons from the ceiling.

One of my new favorites this year is making them a sign for their door on Butcher Paper telling them how long we have loved them.  They loved this.

IMG_3178

It’s also fun to barricade their bedroom door with streamers for them to burst through in the morning.

Ways to make your child's birthday special.  - Secrets of a Supermom
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

The Birthday Countdown Chalk Board is a big thing around here.  About a week before their birthday, I let them choose what they want me to draw, and I do a little countdown sign in chalk for them.  Each day we change the number.  The chalkboard is in the kitchen and when they come down in the morning a week before their birthday and see their sign is up, they know things are getting real.

Another fun thing we did one year is took window paint markers and wrote “It’s Charlie’s Birthday! Honk for Charlie!” on the car windows.  Tons of people found it in their heart to honk at us and the kids just dissolved into giggles every time it happened.  They loved it.  I have a great picture of this somewhere but I can’t find it. [hangs head in shame]  It’s also fun to decorate the inside of your car with birthday banners and balloons.  Makes them feel extra special.

I have a stash of colored paper crowns I got on Amazon and the birthday child always gets to pick out their special crown for the day.

11008084_10152858262733392_3915304417756710434_n
Ways to make your child’s birthday special. – Secrets of a Supermom

I know some will think this is all excessive, and to each their own, but boy I have fun doing it, and it’s only for one day a year.

What do you do to make your child’s birthday special? I’m always looking for new ideas!

One thought on “Making Birthdays Special

Leave a Reply

